Salad Series (I)

So I went grocery shopping yesterday and ended up getting a lot of salad materials. Since fresh greens and fruits don’t have long shelf lives I’m just going to make different salads for the next few days and post them in series. I’ve decided to name the next few posts the Salad Series (I love alliteration).

One thing everyone should know about my cooking, I don’t measure ANYTHING that I make from scratch. So all my recipes are based off of approximations. I encourage experimentation and tasting things while you cook. I believe it’s the best way to learn.

Ok so my first salad (shown above) is just a simple, clean salad, really appropriate for any season or meal whether you want a light lunch or a side salad to go with dinner.

First, get your chicken breast and clean it up by removing any connective tissue and obscene amounts of fat. Cut it up into slices about 1/2 inch thick. Then cut those slices in half so you have square-ish looking pieces. If your chicken is frozen, stick it in a bowl of luke warm water for 1 1/2 – 2 hours (keep it in the packaging).

To your thawed and sliced chicken add:
1 teaspoon of salt
3/4 teaspoon of freshly ground pepper
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon of rosemary
1/2 teaspoon of basil
2 cloves of garlic (crushed)
1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes
Let it marinade for at least half an hour.

Throw your chicken on a hot skillet or pan with just enough vegetable oil to cover the bottom. Let the chicken cook on one side until you see the edges turning white.

This shouldn’t take longer than 7 minutes. Flip your chicken at this point. Let your chicken cook for another 5 minutes. When your chicken is partially golden-brown on both sides, it’s done. We don’t want to overcook our chicken so don’t leave it on for too long!


Now you can prepare the actual salad. Gather your favorite greens and put them in a large bowl (for easy mixing). I put baby spinach and baby romaine in mine. Arugula would be a nice touch, but I’m not particularly fond of arugula personally and I don’t have any anyways.

To the salad greens add:
2 or 3 large strawberries thinly sliced
2 tablespoons of thinly sliced red onion
2 or 3 small white mushrooms (you guessed it, thinly sliced)

For dressing:
1/4 cup of your favorite dressing. I’d suggest NOT using anything with balsamic vinegar since the taste is kind of strong.
1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons of lemon juice. Go ahead and add more if you want.
A crap ton of black pepper
2 teaspoons of salt

Mix er all up and here you are! I hope you enjoy this recipe 🙂

I know a salad isn’t the macho-est thing, but it doesn’t mean I can’t eat it and enjoy watching Spain beat Portugal.

Leave a Reply

