Getting fresh in Geneva

Bonjour mes copains! Il y a longtemps depuis mon dernier post. Je suis desolée 😦 I’d especially like to apologize to my partner in crime, Jon, for abandoning our child. Thank you for not calling DYFS on me.

But enough with the apologies, it’s time to talk food! So for some reason I was under the impression that when I got to Geneva I would suddenly be instilled with a plethora of knowledge of Swiss and French food. Where this idea came from, I have no idea. I’m clearly still me and I clearly still have the same food vocabulary I had prior to my arrival. That put me in a bit of a dilemma: what am I going to write about on Lim Sun for Lunch? I thought about it for a while, when it finally occurred to me that I should write a post on the quality of the food, rather than the food itself (which is something I want to eventually do, but at the moment just isn’t possible).

I think I first realized how fresh and clean the country was when I noticed the little signs on fountains that read “l’eau potable” (drinkable water). These aren’t American water fountains I’m discussing here, these are elaborately decorated fountains with faucets jutting from the sides. The water from these fountains come from Lake Geneva, which is located four blocks away from my residence. The lake is unimaginably blue and clear, erasing any fear that I might come down with dysentery if I consume the fountain water.

Girl drinking fountain water from a random basin

Not only is the water ridiculously fresh, the eggs are of a quality unknown to Americans. If you think those free-range, organic eggs you’re getting in the supermarket are good, you have no idea. First of all, the eggs sold in your average supermarket here in Geneva are not refrigerated. On top of not being refrigerated, they have a shelf life of about three to four weeks. Think that’s amazing? Let’s talk about how thick the shells are and how the first egg I took out of a carton still had feathers on it. Eggs here are like rocks compared to American eggs, a good indicator that the chickens who lay the eggs are properly fed and taken care of. The yolks are also a beautiful deep brownish orange and have a great thick consistency. I think I could go on and on about the greatness of these eggs, but I think you get the picture.

I honestly have no idea what the Swiss are doing to keep their water and food of such high quality, but they definitely have it right. One thing I will mention though is the hypersensitivity to cleanliness and keeping the environment safe. Street cleaning happens about twice a week and litter is nonexistent, even for such an international city like Geneva. We are required to recycle everything, and can get fined by Boston University if we do not separate our trash. Clearly there is a concern about the earth that translates into great food quality.

Leave a Reply

