Sausage, sausage, and more sausage!

First things first, I’m incredibly sorry for and embarrassed by the lack of blogging on my part. I’m on this great European adventure, surrounded by great food and I haven’t been posting. It’s unacceptable, and I apologize for that. I hope that once I’m back home in the States (2 weeks time) I’ll really sit down and work on this blog. Now the food!

After being here for over 3 months, I’ve come to realize that Europe is the most vegetarian-unfriendly place in the world. Or as I like to think of it, Enid heaven. Perhaps my love for meat products has not been conveyed on this blog considering my post history (quinoa-stuffed peppers, salad, etc.) So let me say this once: I love meat, and pork products in particular.

This post seemed like an appropriate one to reveal my obsession. After really thinking about my food experiences here and looking at all the fantastic meals I’ve eaten, I realized that most of them revolved around some type of sausage product. Though I must admit, I feel a bit embarrassed discussing this love for meat in tube form (to paraphrase Anthony Bourdain in Kitchen Confidential). I think this stems from the general American population’s aversion to sausage, which I have attributed to 3 points:

  1. Mystery meat – Sausage was at one time meat scraps ground up and stuffed into the animal’s intestines. Today, sausage you buy in the supermarket is typically meat cuts ground up and stuffed into synthetic casing. But even if we were eating scraps, who cares? Meat is meat.
  2. Pork – I think people believe that eating pig products automatically makes them pig-like. Many individuals, Americans especially, see the pig as a dirty and fat animal with a voracious appetite. Actually, pork is referred to as “the other white meat” because its fat content is significantly lower than beef’s. A lot of the other associations stem from religious beliefs that have colored the American view on pork, whether or not you are a member of those religious groups.
  3. Phallic symbol – Yes, meat in a long tube does resemble a penis. I do feel self-conscious when I eat it, but that’s just something I and anyone else who feels the same way have to get over.

I’m done ranting and raving now.At this point I’m sure you’re tired of reading text, so I’ll let the pictures do the talking. Cheers!

coddle in Dublin

 

eating a bretzel and bratwurst in Basel!

Leave a Reply

