Banana bread of procrastination

I thought as my big comeback to the food blogging scene that I’d post my recently famous banana bread recipe for all to enjoy. I originally started making banana bread when in the beginning of the school year I found myself missing Alisha and Joy. Our apartment in Stuvi was never without delicious baked goods. What started as a nostalgic act transformed into a new tradition when I began sharing my bread with my friends here at NJMS. As my baking became obsessive, I soon became associated with banana bread. By October, people were giving me their bananas and asking me persistently, “When are you making banana bread again?” Some people wouldn’t even make the effort to visit my apartment unless they thought I was baking (if you’re reading this, you know who you are).

I’ve recently changed the original recipe a bit with a little help from my friends. I’m glad I waited until now to post this recipe because I truly believe that my “banana bread of procrastination” (so named since I always find myself making it when I really have better things to be doing) is moister, denser, and overall just more delicious than your average banana bread. I hope you find this to be true as well. Enjoy et bon appétit!

Banana bread of procrastination

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour                                1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup quick oats (1-minute oats)                  3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda                                         2 eggs, beaten
1 teaspoon baking powder                                   3 frozen bananas, thawed
1/4 teaspoon salt                                                    2 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup pecans
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×5 in loaf pan.

2. In a large bowl, add together the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt, pecans, and chocolate chips.

3. In a separate bowl, mix together brown sugar and eggs. When the mixture is well incorporated, add the softened butter. Here is where a hand mixer would come in handy. Unwilling to shell out the money for one, I use a whisk to combine these ingredients. This is what my mixture usually looks like:

Not looking too appetizing, I know...

It looks horrifying and is clearly not uniform in texture, BUT THAT’S ALRIGHT! No need to worry, your bread won’t come out with little pockets of unmelted butter.

4. To the hot mess above, add the thawed frozen bananas. Now if you thought the egg, sugar, and butter mixture looked terrible, wait until you see these bananas…

if this doesn't remind you of poop, then I don't know what does

You’ll notice when you first take out the bananas to thaw that they’re black and lethal looking. Once they’ve thawed and you begin to peel them, the banana flesh should slip right out. Mush them up a bit before adding them to the other wet ingredients.

5. Mix everything together until the batter is nice and moist. Pour into the greased loaf pan.

6. Bake for 50-60 minutes. The bread is done when you stick a knife in the middle and it comes out clean (except maybe for some chocolate streaks).

Leave a Reply

